Avoiding Nigerians

Jessejames

Fakenenobrown
Reaction score
So i went to the red light district and i guess i scream american because i got no eye contact from anybody but the nigerians( not sure which way its spelled). I have so many seeds in my head saying to avoid those guys that i went home early. Can somebody explain why to avoid nigerians because its hard to see another "friendly" black face and turn them away. I feel like uncle ruckus now. I need a reason to avoid the only other black english speaking people i have meet.

Was this Kabukicho? You could just take a different street. I usually use that secluded little walkway by goldengai. Can't remember the name. However, if that's not possible, in my experience the ONLY way to get them to not follow you is to immediately say "fuck off" after they start talking. Rude, yes, but I've been doing that for a couple years and only one has said anything after that, but he still stopped following me. I wait for them to start talking though because I'd feel pretty bad if it was just a normal person who needed directions and I said fuck off right away, haha.

On the other hand, it's annoying yes, but who cares? You've got nothing to worry about as long as you don't follow them into a dark secluded dungeon.

Dark secluded dungeons? I thought it was all about dodgy bars promising an enticing receptacle for your credit card.

I do sometimes have legitimate reasons to walk through Kabukicho at night (because it's the shortest way from B to A) and I think I have developed a "fuck off don't bother me" expression which works quite well, and when it doesn't, a technique developed from the time when I used to walk home from work along Bangkok's Sukhumwit boulevard (hey, I like walking), mainly to avoid Indian tailors who wanted to make my acquaintance, which is to register their presence but don't make eye contact, then make a sudden side-step a split second before you pass, so their proffered handshake goes into thin air).