Guest viewing is limited

Brewing Your Own Beer in Japan

DrCoffee

TAG Member
Reaction score
Does anyone do this on a regular basis? Where do you get your supplies? Are you happy with what you produce?

I'm new to this & am looking to do this in my holiday house just for fun.

Does anyone do this on a regular basis? Where do you get your supplies? Are you happy with what you produce?

I had an idiot hippy uncle who used to brew beer in his home, and just be aware that it can royally stink up the place. After all, you are encouraging a yeast fermentation process indoors, and as in other situations that I'll leave to your imagination, fermenting yeast can be quite unpleasant to the nose. Fortunately, with the advent of medical marijuana licenses this same uncle has now taking up growing weed, instead.

But if you are going to go ahead and try it, as I understand the process--and I've never tried home brewing before--the lagers are the most difficult to make and easiest to fuck up, while ales are quite a bit more beginner-friendly. Just order one of those kits online and you'll probably be fine. For me, personally, I see it as spending $30 for on a labor-intensive, multiple week project that in the end yields you a couple of gallons of warm brew that will probably taste like ass--I'd rather just cut out the work and pop into a good craft beer bar, of which Tokyo has quite a few.

It’s illegal to brew your own beer in Japan without a license, even just fur personal consumption. That’s why there are no stores that sell supplies.

It’s illegal to brew your own beer in Japan without a license, even just fur personal consumption. That’s why there are no stores that sell supplies.
It’s tolerated as long as you don’t sell it, and you can buy all the supplies at Tokyu Hands.

Reactions: hrbb and Ken1988