hello newbie here :)

steelworksinc

TAG Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone, 45, traveling from US, going to be in Tokyo in early December for 3 days, staying in Shiodome area. This is my second visit, and want to try add an extra activity to this short trip. I do had some experience in the subway system early this year.

Last visit, I had YEN exchange in advance before arriving at Tokyo I heard the best way to exchange yen is just withdraw money from ATM. Is that correct?

And I don't know any Japanese. Guess I have a lot of reading to do.

Reactions: TAG Manager
Welcome to TAG! We have plenty of reading material here at TAG that keeps people busy for hours and days at times. (especially new members!)

As for cash --- ATM is just the easiest option, but not necessarily the best rates. I don't go to Shiodome much at all, so I don't know what's in that area that would be a good option. I typically use an exchange counter near Shinjuku which has good rates. The ATM use, while easy, may be costing you more in exchange fees.

Please feel free to ask questions if you cannot find an answer after searching.

Thanks for joining up!

Reactions: AliceInWonderland
planning to check out Mori Museum, Nakano Boardway, Arkihabara (if time allow). And good food!

Welcome to TAG! We have plenty of reading material here at TAG that keeps people busy for hours and days at times. (especially new members!)

As for cash --- ATM is just the easiest option, but not necessarily the best rates. I don't go to Shiodome much at all, so I don't know what's in that area that would be a good option. I typically use an exchange counter near Shinjuku which has good rates. The ATM use, while easy, may be costing you more in exchange fees.

Please feel free to ask questions if you cannot find an answer after searching.

Thanks for joining up!

Thanks for the welcome!

Reactions: TAG Manager
If your bank doesn't charge foreign exchange or withdrawal fees, ATMs are the best way to go.