Hellotalk... how many people message you first?

hamsap

TAG Member
Reaction score
I heard great things about hellotalk but no one is messaging me first.
I have a face picture for my profile and I'm far from ugly.
Posting interesting photos and stories and getting lots of likes but very few comments.
Normal experience for you guys?

Reactions: monalisaoverdrive
I don't have any experience with HelloTalk but I do have experience with tons of other sites/apps. Attractive women (especially on free apps) get 50+ mails a day. Unless you catch their eye there's just no reason for them to write first. They don't run out of options. Times have changed. You got to put alot of effort in now. This applies to all dating / penpal / language exchange apps. So maybe this explains. Ifnot I'm sure someone else can chime in. My experience with with Japanese online is they are very passive. 9 out of 10 times you have to take initiative and do all the rowing.

I have some "insider" knowledge regarding the users of dating apps/services. Even in the US and other western countries, there are just a lot more men than women using the apps/services, so you have way too many guys trying to get way too few girls. Tinder is probably a little better in that regard with more active young ladies and the ratio isn't as bad, but otherwise, if you are a guy, prepare to stick around for a while.

Last edited:
My experience with with Japanese online is they are very passive. 9 out of 10 times you have to take initiative and do all the rowing.

Yeah, I guess you are right. It often feels like a lot of work talking to Japanese people online.
Once you remove everyone who mentions liking shopping and Disney there are a few interesting people left.

Reactions: Frenchy and BB0523