Guest viewing is limited

How to make friends?

Brightluck

TAG Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone!

I've recently moved to Osaka under the Working holiday visa, and I'm having trouble finding friends and acquaintances.

Both the people of my school and baito are just too different, we can't share hobbies.

People here seems pretty open minded (even if I already found someone who I detest), o I guess you can share good ideas.

Thanks in advance :)

I don’t know what your hobbies are but try to find communities there. If you okay sports, enroll in a sports club or so. That’s the easiest way to make friends. They are all there because they like doing it. That’s how I made my current friends.

Actually I tried this:
I'm an amateur musician, so I tried to form a band, but I got no response at all.
And when I replied to people looking for musicians, I got a very cold reply always.

Now I'm checking the meetup thing but honestly I'd prefer making Japanese friends as Im here to learn the language.

I must confess I never went to a pub alone, is it normal to talk to anyone out of the blue?

Meetup really is a good way to meet others without having to reveal much about yourself. Many Japanese use it too, so you'll probably be able to practise your language skills while getting to know people.

People take bands and playing music pretty seriously in Japan - they really think things over before they "commit" to being in a band.

I've never had a Working Holiday visa (not available for my country) but I think they're 18 months, right? If you want to get things rolling I'd say just start going to shows with local bands. They're not cheap - even a low-priced show is usually 2000 yen or so - but if you find a scene you like and go to the shows regularly you'll probably make some friends pretty quickly. After you get to know some people and people get to know you it will be much, much easier to try and find some guys to play with.