Guest viewing is limited

Interview

User#36191

TAG Member
Reaction score
I have been working for a "black company" (ブラック企業) for 2 years. I have always been trying to find out some other alternatives, but due to the salary being very low (for other jobs), I haven't changed until now.

Right now, due to life circumstances and other personal purposes, I am trying to find new jobs in Japan.

What should I expect when it comes to the interview? I was called to an interview which I don't know if I will be evaluated in Japanese and/or English. I assume I will need to prepare myself for both languages as in practice, I will need to use, at least, those languages, besides one or more languages.

How is the interview within both nikkei (日系企業)and non-nikkei(外資系企業) companies in Japan? Are they very similar to Western countries, more specifically, to Canada and European countries?

PS: The position is not for IT related field like many foreigners have been working at here in Japan.

No. 1: This is very hypocritical of companies, but they do not trust job hoppers. Be prepared to answer tough questions on why you want to change jobs and why you're giving up after just 2 years at your current job. It's not fair, but most companies will not hire you just for this very fact.

Plus, your agent will tell you never to say the reasons are for "harassment" or "not being able to handle to abuse and stress."

I worked for a major company in Japan for 4 years but quit because of how horrible it was. Every interview I had after that focused on why I left there and many interviewers called me crazy for leaving such a famous company.

Other than that, the questions are standard. Why do you want to join us? What do you think you can offer? They will then evaluate if you fit who they want for the position and if your skill set/personality meets their company model.

Foreigners in Japan with no major marketable skills have the hardest time finding jobs, but good luck.