What do you guys shave with?

Keihan

Teacher Of The Year
Reaction score
Just curious what you folks shave with and wondering if there's anything I'm missing out on? Shaving is a big deal for me. Thanks to my genetics I inherited the very fair, very sensitive Yayoi skin of the civilized, pretentious Yamato rapists and then the jet-black, bristle-thick facial hair (and alcoholic tendencies) of the southern Jomon savages. I have to be very careful about what I shave with and more often than not I'm still a little intoxicated when I shave.

For most of my younger years I used the ubiquitous Gillette Mach, and it gave me awful razor rash but I just chalked it up to being part of life. Then I moved to Japan, where the refills were something like $20usd for a 4-pack (and I was a broke eikaiwa teacher) so I started looking elsewhere.

I ended up experimenting with DE safety razors. Much improved quality of shave. Got myself a Merkur 34C, expensive badger brush and English shave soap. Those ultra-sharp Japan-made Feather blades were $10/100 on Amazon. Those were happy memories, standing bareass naked in my kitchen, shaving over the kitchen sink in my shithole apartment after a scalding hot shower before hopping on my bicycle and heading out for my 8am 2-nen class.

Then I moved back stateside and was soon in D.C. politics. I didn't have 15-20 leisurely minutes every morning to lather up like some gangster in a mafia movie. I ended up scoring a Panasonic "Arc" electric shaver (I think they call it Lamdash in Japan) on Amazon for way cheaper than the usual $400-ish price and loved the quick convenience. Way better than Braun or Norelco. Electric razors dry out my skin like something awful, but the fact that I could complete a full shave in two minutes without causing a bloody massacre on my face kept me going with Panasonic for the past decade.