Guest viewing is limited

Normal? Gold digger? My mistake?

Status
Not open for further replies.

slenderslim

TAG Member
Reaction score
Hi all. I’m new to using dating apps in general, and I tried one in Japan. A girl and I have chatted for a couple of days and she would like to meet. We will probably go to a sweets shop

My Japanese is so-so. I wouldn’t consider it very good, but I can hold a conversation and make a joke here and there. It’s hard to convey my personality though.

I just wanted people’s input on a part of the exchange that we had while messaging. I wanted to say something a little more flirty than our usual conversation just to indicate interest beyond talking.

Essentially, the context of the conversation was the following: She likes sweets and going to sweet shops, she sent some photos of herself eating them, and then said 一緒に色んなスイーツたべにいきたいですあ!

I replied while tagging one of her photos えええこのスイーツはおいしそう!でも、かわいいお嬢さんの方が興味ありますよ

and then I also said i’m reply to her “let’s meet” comment

じゃあ、暇な時はいつですか

I think what I said may have been very forward, idk, i don’t really understand these nuances in Japanese yet. Anyways, she replies

おや?笑

Which to me reads like a “huh? lmao” which makes me think I fucked up lol. But again, my Japanese, especially my texting, is not practiced. So can anyone shed light on if this is condescending, awing at my cringe, or a positive response?

For what it’s worth, she then followed that up with times and dates when she’s free, so it makes me think either she wasn’t bothered by it, or maybe she though it was weird but wants a free dessert (the sweet she was showing meet looked pricey lmao)

In any case, opinions are welcome. I’ll probably go on a date with her today or this weekend. Thanks!

Reactions: ThaWeeknd
This is all sweetness. How you communicate in person will be waaaay more important!

This is all sweetness. How you communicate in person will be waaaay more important!
Sorry sweetness meaning?