Relocating

DocMcStuffins

TAG Member
Reaction score
We all know the United States is falling apart. Wondering what people think of someone moving to Tokyo.

Factors:

My wife is Japanese
My son is half-white, half-japanese and bilingual
I work in IT
I am middle -aged
My japanese is decent - probably equal to a 7-8 year old lol
I lived in tokyo for 2 years in the distant past
I currently live in a big city with lots of crime compared to Japan

P4p would be a big improvement, assuming I could afford it.

What do you guys think. maybe I should be at other locations?

Last edited:
Reactions: AliceInWonderland
I currently live in a big city with lots of crime compared to Japan

That's not saying anything at all. I read an article once that looked at the violent crime rate between the 'safest' area of a US city (Plano, TX, part of Dallas) and the most 'dangerous' area of a Japanese city (somewhere in Osaka), and Japan was still safer.

Several things that you may or may not be aware of:

Job-wise:
- You have half a leg up if you have (or acquire) a spouse visa. Do this before going to Japan if possible. Eventually you can get an Engineer visa "just in case" if you qualify.
- Your ability to find a job really depends on your existing expertise. "IT" is pretty wide-ranging.
- Not having at least business-level Japanese probably excludes you from a minimum of 50% of IT jobs, and if you are outside to Tokyo and maybe Osaka probably more like 90%.
- I always say that speaking English isn't valuable in Japan unless you also speak native or at least fluent Japanese, but that's particularly true in the IT field, where you are competing against everyone else in the English-speaking world for expat jobs that don't require English. Not badmouthing or anything, but it's just a fact of life these days that Indians and others will do the same job for a whole lot less money.