Guest viewing is limited

Visiting as a Single Woman - Questions

sammiestan

TAG Member
Reaction score
Hello!

I will be in Tokyo next week and I am interested in going to Bliss Out but I’m worried about how safe it may be. I will be going by myself and I’m more worried about traveling alone in Kabukicho at night than the actual happening bars.

I’m quite young and could definitely pass as Japanese as I’m Eastern Asian. Would this help me get into the bars that are more strict about being able to speak Japanese?

Also wanted to ask if anyone has any other suggestions of places I should go to? I’m very shy and doing this out of curiosity, I would like to go somewhere where I can spectate more. Not sure if I would participate as I have no sexual experience.

Thanks in advance to anyone that helps

Kabuki cho is actually super safe for women. I feel much saver there in the middle of the night than in a deserted living neighborhood like Adachi. Basically there are always a lot of people outside (and a lot of tourists) and there is a police station on about every corner and always police patrolling around as well.
One thing that works against you when looking Japanese is that you will probably get approached more by scouts and host club touts. Just keep walking if they don’t offer something you want. The black touts talk to everyone and they are the biggest danger imo, definitely do not go with them.
I don’t think looking Japanese will help you much as a woman. If a place is strict on Japanese, your language must be on point. Happening bars are usually ok with foreigners with basic conversation, but recently they started to ask for Japanese health insurance cards so you can only enter if you are a Japan resident. However, Bliss Out is very foreigner friendly and will accept if you just bring your passport.