Guest viewing is limited

Life In Japan - The High Points

TAG Manager

Executive Leadership
Reaction score
We're starting up two threads in this general section to talk about two points:

- The high points of living in Japan
- The low points of living in Japan

Please share with us both your good and bad experiences while living in Japan.

These threads are not limited to just those people calling Japan home but also those of you that visit Japan for tourism or business related reasons.

This thread is collecting the 'high points' or life's little greats about living in or visiting Japan!

Reactions: Simonka
I suppose it's also a good idea to specify which part of Japan you're living in.

For myself, I live and work in the Tokyo 23 wards and I have been doing so for in excess of 8 years. (I won't specify a exact time frame due to privacy reasons) I also won't get into my career but it's related to a field that deals with brokerage. :)

Personally, there are a lot of high points and I'm sure that some of you may share some of the same. Feel free to duplicate!

Without question, the transportation system is near the top of the list as far as a high point goes. It's not necessarily cheap but it's certainly safe and clean.
I do have a car, but I appreciate the trains for daily commutes even if it feels like a sardine can or smells like a perfume factory in the morning and some old man's shoe on the way home. Haha.

That's what I'll start off with and add more later. :)

Reactions: Simonka
Transportation + a billion different bars and restaurants. Can't do that in a car culture like America without a DD or shelling out for Uber.

Safety. I came back to my parents The other day and two cars were burning in our parking

Last edited:
Food. Highest concentration of Michelin star restaurants in the world.

And that's just the places the regular public knows about! There are literally thousands of bars and restaurants that are members only/by invitation only.